CHAPTER 2: Washington DC

So I spent a week in Washington.  There, I bounced from a hostel bed, to a couch at the place where MaryAlice was herself crashing, to Melissa’s floor.  I know, in real life, when you introduce or mention people you are supposed to contextualize them, but I’m not quite sure how it works on the internet (maybe I should hyperlink their Facebook pages?) so I’ll do nothing.

There, I worked for the Human Rights Campaign, the nations largest GLBT civil rights group.  Have you ever raised a grand by standing on the street for 5 hours?  Until Friday the 13th of November 2009, I hadn’t either.

Which reminds me, I’m the most homeless person that I know: I don’t have a home and I stand on the street and ask people for money.

DC was very DC in that I went out with MaryAlice’s DoJ coworkers and felt like I was participating in the American project.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “CHAPTER 2: Washington DC”

  1. Eva Says:

    Don’t worry, you are the most homeless person I know, too.

  2. MaryAlice Says:

    “The great American project.” Well put.

Leave a Reply

