CHAPTER 8: Miami and Ft. Lauderdale

I’ve made it to Miami, where I’ll probably stay for the rest of December.  Can’t go wrong with 80 degree weather.

I’m staying with my grandparents in Ft. Lauderdale, which is 30 mins to an hour (depending on traffic) outside of Miami.  I commute in for work.

The Art Basel festival is on this week in Miami.  It’s an international art festival that hosts a week long event each year in France, New York, and Miami.  My favorite piece is The Grand Finale. For this piece the artist, Karmelo Bermejo, lit the word “Recession” on fire.  I mostly like it for the description that accompanies it.  I quote: “By constructing the word ‘Recession’, the work introduces an anomaly in the ostentation of the fireworks, intended by the artist to act as a cathartic moment in the current situation created by the world-wide economic crisis.”  Basically, I think the artist is saying that this recession is bull shit.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

