Is West Texas A Real Place?

No.

I left Austin and drove west.  Uncharted territory.   As I drove, I saw many mysterious things.  Things I hardly dare repeat here.  Goat farms, oil wells.  An emu.  In Llano, a Texas-themed town outside of Austin, I passed through a time warp.  Here, keeping with this site’s new focus, is the library:

I saw a flattened armadillo.  I saw 2 dead deer.  I saw 4 dead buzzards.  I saw a dead skunk.  I stopped counting roadkill.  I neared the mythical city of El Dorado.  I neared the mythical nation of Iran.  Evidence:

Here I am sanctioning Iran:

No security council resolutions needed here.  Just my tummy.  Take that Hillary.

Finally, I made it to Marfa, TX, which is actually an arted-up Brooklyn neighborhood, chock full of galleries and Manhattan ex-pats.  Good to be home.

The long and lonesome road:

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Is West Texas A Real Place?”

  1. MaryAlice Parks Says:

    Great pictures Sam! That road does look lonely, but also almost mythical.. I love the way you can see it curve and bounce along in the distance.

    Keep up the foreign policy work.. miss you!

    MA

  2. Big Bend « Sam's America Blog Says:

    […] show it to inspire acts of extreme religiosity.  Wearing the clothes I always wear when sanctioning things. […]

  3. The Road North « Sam's America Blog Says:

    […] had eleven hours of driving before I reached Crater Lake.  The drive reminded me a lot of my tour through west Texas.  I saw mystical […]

Leave a Reply

