Grand Canyon, pt. 3

Canyon hiking is way worse than mountain hiking.  On a mountain, you climb to the top fresh, celebrate with beautiful views, then trot back down, easy peasy.  In a canyon, you practically jog down, overestimating your physical prowess all the way, kick it at the bottom for a bit thinking about how easy it’ll be to climb back out, how you could do it right then if you wanted, then climb out and die.  On Friday morning, I got up at 3:45 AM, packed my camp and started hiking.  I had made a mistake.   The trail I took down has several places to refill water bottles and has lots of shade.  The trail I took up is more exposed and does not have any water spigots.  You’re supposed to do them the other way around.  I left early to avoid the sun.  I took a lot of photos on the way up: good excuse to take a break.  Here are a few:

And here I am at the top:

Doesn’t that grin just scream “I just walked a vertical mile”?

Then I ate buffalo wings and drove to Phoenix.

A Note on Hydration: It’s very important to stay well hydrated while hiking in the desert. I drank 2 liters of water before leaving my camp, 4 more on the way up, another at the top (plus 2 large orange juices!), and then 3 more liters on the road to Phoenix.  That’s about 3 gallons of liquid before 6 PM.  A personal record.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Grand Canyon, pt. 3”

  1. janet packard Says:

    Great photos! They take me right back there.

  2. Cell Phone Photo Review! « Sam's America Blog Says:

    […] left New Mexico and went west.  With some delay (see earlier blog posts) I got to California.  I locked my keys in my car at a rest stop in Chiriaco Summit, CA, on […]

Leave a Reply

