Portland, Seattle

Thanksgiving resolution: updates this blog.

Portland was beflowered houses, bearded folk and microbreweries.  Kind of like the Shire. I worked on a gay rights campaign and raised over $500 a day. Not bad.  Portland boasts the most microbreweries per capita, the most strip clubs per capita, and the “largest independent book store west of the Mississippi.” They also quote more statistics about their city (per capita, at least) than anywhere else. I caught the swifts. Thanks Michael.  Thanks Kara.

In Seattle, I ate vegan cupcakes.  I ate vegan Mac and cheese.  I ate vegan chili dogs.  I worked to preserve Mt. Rainier and I shopped at REI.  I drank Americanos.  Then my car got towed.  Fuck Seattle.  Thanks Katrina.

And then, for the first time in a long time, I turned East.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Portland, Seattle”

  1. melissa Says:

    i just love this. it’s like maira kalman goes west but she’s a dirty boy and funnier.

Leave a Reply

